top of page

Being mindful within your Bhakti Yoga practice

The lure of a higher being has been infused within humanity spanning centuries. We have looked to our gods during times of grief, moments we are adrift, feelings of fear, and upon our death. We have participated in celebration with this infinite spirit during moments of gratitude, joy, elation, and happiness. We spend time studying scriptures, sitting in prayer, and carrying out rituals of devotion and within these moments of darkness and light we find balance. Bhakti yoga is the practice of devotion and surrender, a way to continue your yogic lifestyle away from the mat.

What I adore about the western mindset is the need for action. We love to see and feel results at unprecedented rates. Asana and the power of flow give us these results and fast. The physical practice of yoga strengthens the body while relieving muscle tension, putting the mind at ease and setting free the parasympathetic nervous system. Have you ever driven away from a yoga practice, been cut off, and had a reaction that was more forgiving? This is because during Asana practice we engage muscles that carry tension and release these feelings. We practice our yogic breath leaving the daily shallow chest breathing aside. With just this combo of muscle tension release and full lung breathing we began to steer our nervous system away from the fight or flight response and into a more calm state, known as the parasympathetic nervous system. As we continue our practice our minds and body’s change. We see a firmer physical body and a clearer mind. With these changes we begin to think more openly about our life. As we become more mindful of our thoughts and body we may begin to think about our diet and how it affects our overall well-being. Our prosperity may lead us to this need to seek a more heart filled path.

My own Bhankti yoga practice is anything but traditional. I would love to say I awake each day and sit in front of my alter praising the past, present, and future. That is a far cry from my reality. With the busyness of the morning schedule i.e. morning tea, packing lunches, waking children, and getting my beloved out the door, attempting to squeeze something else on the list to be checked off would wobble the balance. So for me, my Bhakti practice simply consists of being real with myself. I practice this idea by honoring where my daily life goes without putting too much or too little expectation on the day to day. This has become a devotional practice within itself. The idea of surrendering to the here and now, and using the present as my higher power, has enriched minute moments that would’ve been easily over looked without this practice. At this time in my life with two young children, two attention loving dogs, and one very supportive partner using my practice to be fully present in most moments with them has changed the way I view so much within my life. Before I was able to really immerse myself with this idea, I would become cranky or irritable when I wasn’t able to have time to worship. This was defeating and had negative effects on my life. Telling myself that it was OK to not be able to wake up early enough to chant or perform ritual was a turning point for me. Practicing the idea of honoring myself and the moment encouraged me to go deeper within. For me this simply meant discovering new layers within my own life and being able to except them, good or bad.

Bhakti yoga is an important part of the yoga lifestyle. Whether your practice leads you to a god(s) based devotion, learning to surrender to the moment, or any other form of adoration finding that ease in your life will only bring about positive change. By discovering the simplicity of grace within your day to day lifestyle learning to accept your here and now will begin to come naturally. I offer to you the practice of honoring your life wherever it is in this moment.

-Namaste

bottom of page